My Sister The Vampire: Switched! Review

As I have mentioned before, I really enjoy reading. So here is my honest review of the first in Sienna Mercer’s My Sister The Vampire Series.

The Cover

At first sight, the book looks really interesting because of the bold colours and illustrations. I like how the blurb has such good word choices. This looks very deliberate, for example: “Being a new girl sucks.” Obviously, it relates to the fact that the book is about vampires. I personally think this is a necessary part of writing a good blurb. You have to relate the blurb to the book because if the book has a bad blurb then nobody will bother even picking it up.

The Characters

The characters are so detailed and well-described that the book is brought to life. With a good imagination it’s like T.V in your own head! Each character has certain qualities about them and in later books they are mentioned again. Take Camilla Edmunson who is really into sci-fi. You are told this in practically every book. This is great as it means even if you don’t read them in order, you won’t miss anything and it still makes sense.

The Plot

Okay, I’m not going to lie to you. If I wrote too much about the plot then I’d end up spoiling it for you and you wouldn’t want to read it. Really, that’s pointless. But what I can tell you is that it’s not at all like Twilight. Instead it has humour, embarrassing parents and mean girls and nearly all readers can relate.

Recommending this book

I would strongly recommend this book to an audience of about 8-12 years old but really I think anybody would enjoy this because it’s written in such a fun style.

I don’t want to put a star rating on this book because I want you, the readers, to choose for yourselves. What matters is your enjoyment of the book, not a rating that some blogger came up with *looks around casually*.

I hope you take the time to read this book because you’ll be so glad you did.

 

