On Depression

So refreshing to see people who are mature enough to talk about this. Depression is real- it happens! You can’t just tell it to go away, like anything else it takes time. So to everyone who says “Cheer up!” Thanks, but remember, people don’t want to feel like that. Natalie Breuer, your blog is truly lovely!

Natalie Breuer

Processed with VSCOcam with s2 preset

I’ve been trying to write something like this for a couple of years, but it has been difficult for me to find the right words. I am not sure if I have, even now, but I think it is important that I try.

When I was diagnosed with depression, it was late summer in California, and I was wearing an itchy skirt, sweating slightly in an air-conditioned doctor’s office. The psychiatrist asked me a bunch of questions, wrote a couple things down, and then called in a prescription to the pharmacy. “You’re depressed,” she told me. And despite everything, despite expecting to hear her say it and knowing that it was the truth, it still confused me to hear it out loud. “I’m what,” I said.

For weeks after, I could not shake the sense of alienation or the feeling that something was terribly wrong with me. When I was…

View original post 1,147 more words

