DIY Hair Chalk Recipe

Hey everybody!

I don’t think I’ve told you before but I am in love with having coloured hair. I love wild styles but run screaming at the mention of committing to one crazy ‘do. When I was little, I found the perfect solution: hair chalk. I know it is famed for making your hair stiff and crunchy and it fades away, but I promise there are some good reasons to try it!

Hair chalk washes out so easily! If you have blonde hair it might take more than one wash to completely remove all traces of colour, but  for darker hair it usually comes out with one shampoo. You don’t have to worry about having to keep your colours so you can switch it up, and the best part? You don’t need to worry about harmful chemicals.

After spending so much time using hair chalk and artists’ pastels to give my hair some personality, I ended up mooching around on the computer searching for a DIY recipe. I thought, I love hair chalk so what could be better than making my own?!

And then I found it. 

Thanks to the SoapQueen, I finally have a recipe for DIY Hair Chalk. This recipe is not my own and neither are the images.

You will need:

  • 2 Tablespoons Colourant (We-the SoapQueen- found that oxides and Bramble Berry neon pigments worked best and micas didn’t really work at all; they just crumble apart.)
  • 1/2 teaspoon Kaolin Clay
  • 1 Tablespoon Witch Hazel
  • 1/2 teaspoon Arrowroot Powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon Water

Making the Hair Chalk:

  1. Mix dry colourant (in the pictures, SoapQueen is using Electric Bubblegum Pigment) and Kaolin Clay together in a bowl big enough to stick both hands in.Mixing Kaolin and Colorant
  2. Create a slurry by placing the Arrowroot Powder and water in a separate small container and mixing well. Microwave the mixture for 5 seconds. If it’s not a little bit thick after 5 seconds, try another three-second burst. You do not want it gummy, just slightly thickened and overheating will cause gumminess so proceed with caution (and the 3 second bursts) while heating.Making Arrowroot Slurry
  3. Add the Witch Hazel to the dry powders, and hand mix together (while wearing gloves!). Once well mixed, add the Arrowroot Powder and Water slurry.  Really squish the mixture together. You don’t want it crumbly or wet, or to have bits of undispersed clay. It should have texture just like kid’s modelling clay. If it is too dry, spritz witch hazel one spritz at a time until correct consistency is reached.Finishing the Hair Chalk
  4. Roll mixture on a piece of parchment paper until you get the shape you like. Allow to air dry overnight.

Applying The Hair Chalk

You will need:

  • Gloves
  • Apron
  • Spray Bottle with water
  • Comb
  • Blow-Dryer, Hair Straightener and/or Curling Iron
  • Hairspray

PREP: Cover the shoulders of the person you’re applying the chalk to with an old towel or a thin sheet of plastic. Put on some gloves to protect your hands, and wear an apron to protect clothing. A plastic/waterproof apron would work best if you have one.

NOTE: For the tutorial, SoapQueen pulled half of Rachel’s hair up so she could chalk just the hair underneath for an ombre or peekaboo effect. In the very last picture, check out Becky’s blonde hair with chalk on the outermost strands. Both styles worked great! Get creative with where the chalk is applied for some really unique effects. Use of the hair chalk can have as subtle or as obvious a result as you’d like.

  1. Wet designated area of hair desired to be chalked using the spray bottle. Really saturate the hair with a good amount of water!Spray Hair with Water
  2. Apply the chalk to the wet hair by dragging it along the strands. Use your fingers to rub the chalk into the hair really well.Chalking the Hair
  3. Once you’ve reached the desired amount of coverage, comb through the hair to evenly distribute the chalk.Combing the Chalk Through
  4. Heat-set the chalk using either a blow-dryer, curling iron, or straightener. A curling iron or straightener on wet hair may not be the best idea for those with damaged hair. You can also straighten or curl the hair after you blow-dry it. Take this opportunity to style the hair before the next step.Heat setting chalk
  5. Finished Chalked HairOn the website, there was even a printable PDF of this tutorial!

Thank you so much SoapQueen! 

That was a DIY Hair Chalk recipe. If you enjoyed reading this or found it helpful, like share and comment so I know to create more content like this. Follow for more madness and I’ll see you all later!

But until next time, keep blabbing!

 

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “DIY Hair Chalk Recipe

  1. This is sooo cool!! I tried to dye my hair with KoolAid a few years ago, and the color did not stick, lol!! This looks like a much better choice 🙂 Thanks for sharing the recipe with us!! I don’t know where I would be able to get my hands on the ingredients, but I’d love to try. I would either enjoy having bright blue or purple highlights!! 💙💜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Girl, I have contemplated Kool-Aid dye before and I am glad I discovered hair chalk. I think Kool-Aid dye shows up best on blonde hair. Bright blue and purple are the best! They show up great on dark hair too. If you don’t have the ingredients, don’t worry! You can simply buy artist’s pastels. They come in such fun and funky colours and are super easy to use. Thanks for reading! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That makes sense. My hair’s definitely too dark for Kool-Aid, then 😂 yes!! I’ll have to look for those pastels. I’d have fun dyeing my hair 😂 you’re welcome!

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.