Desktop Desert

Hello everybody!

I know it has been a while since I last posted, but I am back and I am excited to introduce you to Doris! Yes, I have named it. I bought a tiny cactus and named it Doris. If you’re reading this Mum and Dad, remember when I named the fish? I miss having a pet, something to take care of and I figured why not a cactus? They’re trendy and low-maintenance, right? So I got a little spiky plant and thought it would be funny to name it.

A while back, I tried to DIY one of those cute mason jar cups. But the jar in question was HUGE and near impossible to drink out of. So I gave up and bought a cheap little one instead. Well, that didn’t go down too good either because it wasn’t secure and I ended up soaking my shirt trying to be hydrated. Guess I got what I wanted, huh?Β 

Coming home with my new plant-buddy, I wanted to create an indoor garden thingy after seeing a couple of bloggers who have their own. Shoutout to Reema’s Garden! And guess what? I ended up getting pretty messy (not that I mind, I can handle a little mud) in my backyard, scooping up dirt and compost to build Doris a new home. With what? The evil, defective little mason jar cup! Life takes unexpected turns sometimes. Who’d a thunk it, that something I deemed useless came in handy and helped create a cute new piece of dΓ©cor?Β 

Note that I put the pot into the jar of dirt. I didn’t plant the cactus straight into the jar as it has no holes to drain. Do cactuses-erm, cacti?- need draining? If it ever needs draining I can just pull the pot up I guess. If anyone has experience with a cactus and you are willing to share your tips I would be very grateful.

That was my detailed story about how I created my very own indoor garden. If my post made you giggle or snort, then hit like and share because that makes me smile! Have you ever tried to take care of a living thing; a plant, a pet, a baby? How did that turn out for you? Let me know in the comments below. Follow for more madness and I’ll see you all later!

But until next time, keep blabbing!

 

19 thoughts on “Desktop Desert

  1. I did have a pet long back! He was a dog and I don’t prefer calling him a dog cause he was like my lil’ bro!! His name was jimmy and I used to love taking care of him! He was very caring for me as well, whenever I was in tears or sad!! I did try to take care of a plant once, though! But I accidentally killed it by putting lots and lots of water!! ( I was small). Poor guy, he died!!! As Maggie mentioned, cacti doesn’t need lots of water, because it has amazing pores that can store lots of water for once. I hope Doris grows well, good luck !!!!
    xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would love a warm, fuzzy pet but I think I need to focus on my little, prickly plant first and see how it goes LOL. I am glad you shared your experience, it’s heart-warming. I am glad you had Jimmy. Thank you very much, I will do my best to take care of Doris πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. How cute, I love cacti too! You could try putting the cactus in a plastic plant pot(like he one it came in) with holes in he bottom and putting it inside of another, more attractive pot for drainage, that works pretty wellπŸ™ˆ

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Heyy Princess.. You Just made my Day! Thank You so much!!
    For the Cactus.. Its great if you have a drainage hole to drain out the excess water! It needs very little water. You can water it when the top soil feels dry. Initially, water it twice in a week, then slowly moving to once in a week/10 days.
    Lots of love!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Aww I love cacti! Yours is so cute πŸ˜πŸ’š haha loving the name you chose! xx I’ve been cultivating the same little succulent plant for going on a year now, and I’m keeping it in a glass container like the one you have Doris in, but a bit more shallow. I water it once a week (enough to dampen the soil), and I have it on my bedroom’s window sill during daylight hours. I hope that helps!! Succulent care directions can be very confusing, but what I shared with you is what works for me πŸ’™πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much Maggie for all your help! I am so glad you could share your knowledge. I had no idea that you don’t need to water that often. I was watering once every couple of days. You really helped me, thank you πŸ™‚ ❀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome! Yeahh actually when I watered another one that much, I drowned it 😳 (overwatered it) but I think that plant was just cranky!! I’ve learned to let the soil get bone dry before watering again, haha πŸ˜€ also that probably wouldn’t kill your cactus, as it is bigger than the succulent I have xx

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.